frazzled-imp's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crap. Nail polish. Sick fish.

***WARNING***

This post is dealing with the ups and downs of potty training. If you don�t want to read about little kids peeing and pooping, then you might want to skip over this post. Or just scroll down a ways, to where I talk about other, less stinky subjects.

I won�t be offended.

Really.

I just need to bitch.

We�re doing the potty training thing. We�ve been working on it for months now, but over the last week, things have really been picking up. Aislinn has been wearing underwear all day, and diapers only at night. I also no longer need to ask her every half hour if she needs to use the potty, she has learned to come to me and tell me when she needs to go. Beyond that, she has finally figured out that pissing all over the bathroom floor is an extremely unacceptable action, and has ceased contorting herself into yoga positions while on the pot.

As I�m sure you can imagine, this has been a huge relief for me, and I�m cheering her along every step of the way. At this rate, it won�t be long before I�m willing to let her go overnight in them.

There�s just one problem.

The kid refuses to poop in the potty.

She�ll hold it in all day, and wait for me to put her back in her diapers before doing the dreaded Number Two. And while I appreciate that she at least waits until she�s no longer in her underwear to do it, it�s still frustrating. No amount of pleading and begging is getting it done. She will sit on the can for fifteen minutes or more, and refuse to go. The kid has endurance.

I�m not quite sure what to do here. I know that she is waiting for her diapers, so the logical thing would be to not put her in diapers until she does the dirty deed. But, at some point she has to put on diapers, because I don�t feel she�s quite ready to go overnight in the underwear, yet. And even if she were, the prospect of her crapping in the bed is mortifying to me, especially since she has a tendency to sneak into my bed once I�m sound asleep.

I just don�t think waking up to the sight and smell of a toddler who has shit in her shorts would put me in a good mood for the day, ya know?

I don�t know. I keep hoping she�ll get the idea, sooner rather than later. But the kid takes after me. She�s stubborn as a mule.

If any of you parents out there have any suggestions, I�m more than open to hearing them.

Please. Help me.

Any other news?

Not much.

I decided to paint my fingernails today, since we now have nail polish remover, and I can take it off without waiting months for it to chip away on its own. And after I�d finished doing my nails, I figured I might as well do the toes, as well. I feel so girly.

Did I mention that I am horrible at painting my nails?

Wretched.

I think Aislinn might have been able to do a better job than I did. That�s pretty sad.

I think one of the guppies, Simon, is sick.

Bummer.

He hasn�t eaten since around 5 p.m. yesterday, and he was just sort of swimming along around the top of the tank. The rest of the fish seem perfectly fine, except that Garfunkle kept chasing Simon around the tank. The two newcomers to Amie�s House of Water seem perfectly content, and have been peacefully checking out their new digs since yesterday. As far as I can tell, Simon doesn�t have Ick, but something is not right.

Finally, I decided to quarantine him, and he is currently living in a two-quart pitcher on the kitchen counter. I put some food in there, but he still refused to eat it.

This is not a good sign.

I think Simon may be taking a trip on the Great Big Toilet Bowl O� Doom.

Shape up or flush out.

Time to go haul the kid out of the tub before she floods the room again.

Hope everyone has a spiffy Friday night.

7:42 PM - April 25, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

squirrelx
trancejen
golfwidow
jynxed
sunnflower
weetabix
ravynespeaks
chubbychic
twelvebeer
sundry
marn
rudey
naridu
mentalblank
heidiann
idiot-milk
kristintracy
betenoire05
kitchenlogic
warmleftover
wicked-sezzy
tuff517
jwalker
itsmylife
so-charming
emiline220
augustdreams
mommylap
aphrodite057
smoog
bafleyanne
sleepyzoe
boxspringhog
preciousgift
wifemotherme
kungfukitten
justjones