frazzled-imp's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lovely Library Lady.

I love Library Day. It's my favorite day. I could happily live in a library, roaming the shelves, caressing the spines of books, picking my way through one after the other. The smell of books is a huge comfort for me, and the library is the embodiment of that smell. I step into a library, and instantly feel at home.

Maybe I'm weird, but I guess there are worse things to be weird about.

It broke my heart today to have to limit myself to just four books. There was a time, long ago, I could check out 8-10 books from a library, and finish them all in the two week period. Some days I'd lie in bed all day and read a book from cover to cover in one sitting, only getting up to pee and feed myself. Now, I'm lucky if I get an hour in each night after Aislinn is asleep, and all the chores are taken care of.

I miss my quality reading time. A lot.

Maybe it won't be much longer before I can have it back, to some degree. Today at the library, while I was getting my selections, Dad took Aislinn to the children's section and sat with her reading a book. When it was time to go, Aislinn demanded a book of her own to take home. While I know she can still be a little rough with her books, it made my heart swell with pride to see her that determined to have a book of her own. Deciding to take my chances, I let her pick one out.

The way she carefully looked over the book covers before choosing her prize will stick in my head for a long, long time. The pleased look on her face as she handed over her selection to me was priceless. The way she carefully paged through the book on the ride home made me certain I'd made the right decision in letting her take one home.

They're never too young to start teaching them a love for books. Never.

1:25 PM - March 18, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

squirrelx
trancejen
golfwidow
jynxed
sunnflower
weetabix
ravynespeaks
chubbychic
twelvebeer
sundry
marn
rudey
naridu
mentalblank
heidiann
idiot-milk
kristintracy
betenoire05
kitchenlogic
warmleftover
wicked-sezzy
tuff517
jwalker
itsmylife
so-charming
emiline220
augustdreams
mommylap
aphrodite057
smoog
bafleyanne
sleepyzoe
boxspringhog
preciousgift
wifemotherme
kungfukitten
justjones